Wow…

Just got home from work. Before walking into my house I stood in the street feeling strangely freaked out without being able to put my finger on why. Something felt… weird.

It took an entire minute before I realised what it was: NO PLANES. I live on the Heathrow flightpath and Heathrow, of course, is closed, thanks to that ash cloud from the volcano in Iceland. Obviously I’d been aware all day that I’d get home and find everything quiet, but I’d completely forgotten about it until my Spider Senses told me that something was off.

I don’t like it. I want the planes back!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Wow…

  1. Lerxst

    Classic! The UK has a plane specifically equipped to measure the volanic ash in the atmosphere and make judgements on flying safety etc.

    It’s a BAe-146-301 large Atmospheric Research Aircraft belonging to the Facility for Atmospheric Measurements.

    So where is it now? On the ground with all instruments removed waiting to be repainted.
    🙂

    http://www.faam.ac.uk/index.php/news/275-volcanic-ash-event

  2. Ruud V

    Typical.

    And now OUR vacation plans are maybe going down the drain, since we’re supposed to embark in a plane to London and then Rio in less than 2 weeks.

    It’s wait and see…

    Lília V.

  3. Ruud V

    It’s funny. Of all people, the head of the Icelandic Meteorological and Vulcanic Service is stranded here in the Netherlands, where he was attending a seminar.
    And it’s also ironic that Icelands’s main airport is open, because the wind is blowing the ashes away to the west….

Leave a Reply

