The Waters of Mars (and Worthing)

Please excuse the long silence – I’m currently drowning in a sea of work, which sounds a damn sight more poetic than it is.  It’s great to be busy – just ask my credit cards – but I’m getting to the point now where I’d like an entire week off with absolutely nothing to do and nothing to feel guilty about.

Still, I had a few weeks like that two months ago, which explains why this month I can barely afford to pay my rent. Woe is me, etc etc.

But anyway, because I don’t want this post to be all doom and gloom, check this out:

Clever kite surfers jump over pier!

That looks like SO MUCH FUN. I am very jealous!

Also: I loved last night’s new episode of Doctor Who – The Waters Of Mars. Less action than I was expecting, true, but I thought Lindsay Duncan was marvellous (I really liked her in Rome, so it was good to see her again) and Tennant’s Doctor was his usual batshit-crazy self.

Best of all, though… the trailer for the Christmas episode. Sweet Jesus, how many days left until we can see it? It looks like all our Christmasses will have come at once!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Waters of Mars (and Worthing)

  1. We just saw “Waters of Mars”, and to be honest, I don’t know if I will really like this one a lot.
    I know that the show can be dark and all that, but I don’t know if this one was for the little ones.
    Production values and acting were great, as usual of course, but the Doctor is really doing things uncheked now.
    Scary.

    On the other hand, he was also great when he guested on “The Wedding Of Sarah Jane” recently.
    He will be missed…..!

  2. I particularly liked the tie-back to the Stolen Earth plotline, even if it did mean a gratuitous Dalek being shoe-horned in.

    Anyone else think “Gadget Gadget” was a bit Star ars Battledroid “Roger Roger”?

  3. Dawn T

    I was slightly disappointed by WoM – it just wasn’t as scary as I was expecting. I wanted ‘Blink’-type scary and it just didn’t deliver for me, I’m afraid. On the other hand – arrogant doctor ignoring the laws of time – ooh, big mistake! It was worth watching just for the trailer for Christmas!

    Can’t wait for Christmas now – I’m desperate to see how this whole thing is going to work out. Am also very excited to see the new Doctor next year!

Leave a Reply

