“That’ll be two crowns and thruppence, missus.”

I had to go to my local sorting office yesterday to pick up a parcel I needed to pay customs duty on (an occupational hazard when you buy so many DVDs from the USA). When I pulled out my card to pay the £12 fee, the guy behind the counter looked rather embarrassed.

Post Office Guy: “I’m sorry, we don’t accept cards.”

Me: “You only take cash? Seriously?”

Post Office Guy: “There’s an ATM across the road.”

Me: “But why don’t you take cards? What is this, the 19th century?”

Post Office Guy: “We’re the Post Office, you know. I’m surprised we don’t still use horses and carts to deliver letters.”

Me: “In that case, you won’t mind if I pay you in shillings and farthings, will you?”

Post Office Guy: “It’s only fair.”

Honestly, the Royal Mail are trying to position themselves as an organised 21st century business but they don’t even accept Visa? How dumb is that?

Sometimes it amazes me this country even has the internet. Or the wheel.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to ““That’ll be two crowns and thruppence, missus.”

  1. Rhian

    If I want to transfer money from a Natwest account to an HSBC one, the quickest way to do it is to physically take the cash out, then make a cash deposit. That’s instantaneous – if you do it online it can take a week or more for the money to credit. Banks and the Post Office obviously still occupy their own little corner of the 19th century…

  2. Lerxst

    Huh.. the bastards happily took my credit card last week when they wanted to charge me £70 in import tax and post office “handling charges”…

  3. …wow, you can pay in money at the postoffice?! We still use beads, mirrors and goats…

  4. Lerxst

    Even having read about this beforehand, it has to go down as one of the funniest things I’ve seen for a while, made all the more amusing by Mark C’s initial “Ooo look at that..”

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/8281382.stm

Leave a Reply

