Of Hedges And Hedgehogs

So what can I say about the new Star Trek movie?  Well, I’m seeing it again, for starters. That should tell you a few things. And it was funny, really funny, and at times I missed great chunks of dialogue because I was giggling so much. The cast were great – my love of Bruce Greenwood continues unapaced as his Christopher Pike was rather wonderful – and the only thing letting the film down, I think, if I want to be really picky, was the score… mainly because I wasn’t humming it by the end of the film. Should’ve been catchy, yes? No.

All other comments I’m saving for my next SFX column, in which I wax lyrical about the word  “Bones”. Weird, I know. Incidentally, the SFXers among you might have noticed that my column has been moved to the front of the magazine, which means that now not only do I get more exposure but I can also talk about things that aren’t TV – hurrah! My word count’s shrunk a little, though, but I don’t mind because it means I have no room to ramble. And, as anyone who reads this blog knows, I can ramble on rather well…

What have I been up to recently? My friends Pet Shop Anny and Matt paid me a visit last week and we spent (a rather rainy) day at Hever Castle, childhood home of Anne Boleyn:

hever

hever-2

Now there’s a nice place to grow up! I’d actually never heard of the castle in my life and didn’t recognise a thing as we were exploring, which just goes to show that Britain is full of wonderful, historical surprises and you should never take anything for granted.

However, another surprise was my discovery that I’m rather phobic of mazes – I walked two feet into Hever’s ancient yew maze and walked right back out again feeling rather ill. Last year I spent a while in the maze at Hampton Court and remember becoming a little panicky towards the end, so I can only assume my subconscious has taken that feeling and nourished it in the time in between.  Why thank you, brain! Much appreciated!

I blame Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire and this:

maze1

So now I have three hideous phobias: spiders, zombies and mazes. If ever I’m lost in a maze with zombie spiders chasing me I’m as good as dead. Fingers crossed it’ll never happen, eh?

I was also lucky enough to see Wolverine last week, though I can’t talk about it because I signed all sorts of scary forms saying I’m not allowed to discuss the film (and I can’t remember when the embargo runs out, either, so I may just stay tight-lipped forever). As you may recall, I was hoping to go to the press junket and sit in the same room as Hugh Jackman but due to events beyond my control it didn’t happen… bugger. However, I did get to interview Wolverine’s director in the room next to Jackman, which tickled me even if I never got a sniff of the guy. So near, and yet so far!

Gavin Hood, may I add, is a DUDE. We’d actually met on the set of Stargate SG-1 in 2004, back in the days when he was acting, and we had a casual ten-minute chat by a catering table as I waited to speak to Richard Dean Anderson and he waited to film a scene. The fact I still remember this chat four years on just goes to show how lovely he was back then, and he still is – he even recreated his Stargate character’s Russian accent for me! (For those interested, he played Colonel Vaselov in ‘Lockdown’, which means that the guy who directed Wolverine once shot Jack O’Neill. I love how freaky that is!)

Can I also add that when the interview was over, Hood gave me a massive hug? And that I’ve been a journalist for nine years and an interviewee has only ever hugged me once before?

Like I said, he’s a DUDE.

(For the record, the other hugger was Terry Gilliam, which was one of my favourite interviews ever because I’d been a fan of Gilliam since I my childhood self figured out that I should stop being scared of his Monty Python animations and start being amused by them. Seriously, to this day his giant hedgehog, Spiny Norman, freaks me out:

spiny-norman

…although I do secretly wish he’d had a face-off with the giant kitten from The Goodies:

kitten
My money would have been on the ’hog.)

And would you look at that – I’ve rambled on! Must dash!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Of Hedges And Hedgehogs

  1. wish they’d stop moving you around, jane. hopefully your new spot will be your home for many years to come. thanks for the castle pron. it’s on my must-visit list!
    xx

  2. lizwc

    Glad they’ve finally moved you back out of the “spoiler” zone… I think you deserve the extra prestige.
    And the giant kitten from the Goodies? I loved it, but it gave one of my little sisters nightmares… ok she was 4 back then…

  3. Barb

    Thank you! I *knew* he must have played Vaselov on SG 1 but didn’t really believe it.

  4. Lerxst

    Saw Wolverine the other day, and contrary to a lot of the reviews, I enjoyed it more than the original X-Men trilogy – I say that as someone who has never been a fan of the comics. Anyway, no spoilers, but full credit to Liev Schreiber – even stuck with the ‘fingernails of death’, rather than proper claws, I thought his Victor outcooled Hugh Jackman off the screen… and I never thought I’d say that about Cotton Weary.

  5. jaynenelson

    I enjoyed Wolverine too! And I’m thrilled it did so well at the box office. GO WOLVIE!

Leave a Reply

