Ooh la la!

My friend Gillen – aka my comics pimp – recently lent me a stack of Marvel stories which I’ve been ploughing my way through this week. I was just sitting here reading The Mighty Avengers: The Ultron Initiative by Brian Michael Bendis/Frank Cho when I spotted that they used a picture of the Eiffel Tower and labelled it as being in Brussels.

“Well,” I thought. “That’s not on.”  So I texted Gillen to tell him. I knew he was on holiday, and I knew he was in France, but guess where he was standing when he read my text?

Okay, don’t guess. Here’s the photo he sent me:

eiffel-tower1

Jesus. It’s a small world, after all. And also? NOT BRUSSELS.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Ooh la la!

  1. Well, actually there is a smaller replica of the Eiffel Tower at Mini-Europe in Brussel.
    And sized down replicas in Vegas, Epcot, Virginia, Shenzen (China), Ohio…. the liost is long (according to Wikipedia).
    I knew about the ones in Epcot, Vegas and Brusel though.
    So technically they were sort of accurate.
    But I agree that there’s no substitute for the real thing…

  2. Well, actually there is a smaller replica of the Eiffel Tower at Mini-Europe in Brussel.
    And sized down replicas in Vegas, Epcot, Virginia, Shenzen (China), Ohio…. the list is long (according to Wikipedia).
    I knew about the ones in Epcot, Vegas and Brussel though.
    So technically they were sort of accurate.
    But I agree that there’s no substitute for the real thing…

  3. Lerxst

    Having grown up not that far (but thankfully some distance) from Blackpool, I’ve never been able to see what the fuss is about with the Eiffel Tower. 🙂

  4. I know what you mean. I have that with windmills. We have some of the highest traditional windmills in world here in Schiedam, but for me they were part of everyday life. I think I was already in my thirties when I first climbed to the top of one…

    Though I remember that the view from the Eiffeltower was quite impressive. To bad about all those stairs (our budget didn’t allow for the elevators…)

  5. lizwc

    You’re quite sure Gillen wasn’t in Blackpool? 😉

  6. jaynenelson

    …why, that lying skunk!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

