A Rib-Tickler And No Mistake…

Well, after almost a month of being so hyperly-hyper that I was starting to suspect my genes had been spliced with Tigger because all I wanted to do was bounce and bounce and bounce, day after day after day, my energy levels have finally taken a nosedive. As of today, I am officially Eeyore.

I have a cough so rotten that it’s given me a temperature, a headache and several pulled muscles in my ribcage. I’m having to take tomorrow off work (something I very rarely do – you don’t get sick days when you’re a freelancer) and I’m wondering if I’m ever going to have the energy to write the two features and two reviews that are due in the next few days. Bugger.

On the plus side, I just watched the film Koyaanisqatsi and now I’m mellow beyond words. If you’ve never seen it, it’s a montage of scenes of planet Earth set to a beautiful Philip Glass score and utterly, utterly lovely. I’d seen Chronos, one of the sequels, but this was far better. And also just what I needed on a rainy Sunday afternoon when I can’t watch anything exciting because it makes me cough…

…as I discovered when I watched the mid-season finale of Supernatural, which was so amazing it nearly killed me. I gasped and laughed and squeaked and squeed so much during its 40-minute running time that I’m holding it officially responsible for making me hurt as much as I do now.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but Supernatural is now my favourite TV show of all time. I’m sorry, Twin Peaks: you meant a lot to me, but our affair is over. I adored you and we had some good times together (remember that endless dissertation and all the research in Towson State University’s library back in 1992? Oh, to have had the internet back then, rather than a doddery old microfiche machine and handfuls of dimes to feed it with…). I’ve found a new love, and it’s kicking your sorry ass from here to Snoqualmie. The bad guy in Twin Peaks was a single evil spirit; in Supernatural, the heroes have to battle the entire contents of Hell. How could a girl not love that?

Supernatural has also reminded me – considering its current, season four ‘angel’ theme – to post this amazing clip from the Wim Wenders film Wings Of Desire, which I fell in love with a few months ago.  You don’t have to watch it all (you can stop at four minutes if you want) but you’ll get the gist; angels living among us are listening in on people’s thoughts in a library in Berlin. Beautifully shot, exquisitely scored; it’s one of my favourite scenes in the history of cinema. And it’s nice to share…

You’ll excuse me if I sign off now. I have some coughing to do.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A Rib-Tickler And No Mistake…

  1. Koyaanisqatsi is an exquisite gem of a film, but the trilogy as a whole is worth watching too. I think that the score of Powaqaatsi is probably the best of the three and Nagoyaqaatsi is the best visually.

    PS Get well soon!

  2. jaynenelson

    I might have to put those two on my LoveFilm rental list, then – I already put Baraka on there! I think I’m hooked now…

    Thanks for the get well wishes! It’s very inconvenient having an ailment that makes it impossible to laugh. Grr!

  3. Still haven’t seen any Supernatural, sorry.

    And wasn’t Wings of Desire recently simplefied and remade with a Cage and an Meg? Or is it a similar film…?

  4. jaynenelson

    Yes, Wings of Desire was remade as City of Angels. And it SUCKED OUT LOUD.

  5. …I like to listen to Glass when I am reading certain books. It creates a nice mood. The same goes for Oldfield, especially his albums (yep, I am still playing vinyl) from the seventies. Maybe give it a try?

    And there should be a law about Holywood remaking movies that are not from the US….

Leave a Reply

