So A Funny Thing Happened On The Way Home From Work Tonight…

I went for a coffee with a friend after leaving the office. As we walked out of the cafe it became pretty clear that Something Big was going on in Leicester Square, so we wandered over for a look. It was the premiere of a film outside the Odeon West End, but we couldn’t figure out which film because there were too many people crowding around the red carpet and hiding the signs.

We stood there for a few minutes, in the sleet, and realised that the crowd were chanting, “Colin! Colin!”

“Is it Colin Farrell?” I asked my friend.

“No, it’s Colin Firth,” said a man standing by us. “Look, there he is.”

I turned around and Colin Firth was about three metres away, signing autographs and posing for photos.

“Oh,” I said. “That Colin.”

The film turned out to be Easy Virtue, and Firth’s co-stars Jessica Biel and Kris Marshall were doing the rounds too (Jessica must have been freezing in her bare-shouldered dress). Ben Barnes was pretty popular as well…

(Nice to see he’s kept his Prince Caspian hairdo. I guess it’s popular with the ladeez.)

You know, I was brought up in Torquay, where the biggest celebrities I ever saw were Jim Davidson and Syd Little. London is a whole new ballgame, isn’t it? I mean, how many people stroll past film premieres on their way to the train station?

I love this city.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “So A Funny Thing Happened On The Way Home From Work Tonight…

  1. That was a nice surprise. I wish I could have been there too!

  2. jaynenelson

    I probably should have mentioned that he looked utterly, utterly gorgeous, too. 😉

  3. Interesting photo’s. I almost expected Harrison Ford to pop up, shooting some replicants. It all looks a bit Blade Runnery…
    By the way, this is where we first met, right?

    A city to love indeed. And in Torquey you at least had Davidson and Little (whom I had to look up, by the way). In Schiedam the most famous person I ever met, was tomporarely famous-ish local play-back entertainer Ron Visser.
    And he is my brother…

  4. caffan

    If I lived in London, I would be attending everything Colin was attending. He’s such a fantastic actor. Thanks for sharing those great photos.

  5. Lerxst

    Hmm. I grew up in Preston so the local god was/is Sir Tom Finney. Probably means zip to you, but as a football fan, I still fondly remember talking to him (well, exclaiming ‘You’re Tom Finney!’) in the queue in M&S.

    BTW Jayne, did you know your blog is barred by Patientline, the overpriced hospital TV/Internet service? 😦

Leave a Reply

