Avast, Me Hearties! Arrrrrrr!

Arrrrr! I might have missed “International Talk Like A Pirate Day” last week (I WILL remember next year, although I’ve been telling myself that since it started) but, by way of compensation, today I discovered that you can get Facebook to talk like a pirate too. So now I’m all about the treasure and the sea shanties and the walking of the plank and the, uh, jolly rogers. Arrrrr!

It’s great fun, my laddies, so if you’re a Facebook crewmember get your scurvy selves to the ‘Languages’ section on the bottom of your homepage and set it to ‘English (Pirate)’. If not I’ll set my cutlass to cuttin’ ya to pieces of eight! Arrrrr!

In other (slightly saner) news, I’d like to thank everybody for their wonderful advice, comments and suggestions about my current spate of nightmares – which, sadly, continue unabated. Thankfully I’m not so tired this week, but my brain seems to have reached its limit for thinking up new dreams so now I’m repeating old ones. The biggest culprits are “I’m moving house and it’s chaos!” followed by “I have an exam and I haven’t revised!” How terribly cliched. I’m quite disappointed with my subconscious. And I’m also disappointed my subconscious hasn’t grown bored with subjecting me to such nonsense every goddamn night for eight weeks.

Just give it a rest, brain!

But seriously, to all the people who left comments or emailed me: thank you. I shall let you know when the nightmares end. Watch this space… hopefully not for another two months.

In the meantime, I have one day left at work and then on Wednesday I’m flying off to Venice for my birthday – hurrah! It’ll probably be the last time I go anywhere for a while as I have a tax bill on the way (currently being calculated by my accountant, and ohmygod I can’t believe I’m at the stage of my life where I have an accountant for Chrissakes). It looks as though it’s going to rain the whole time I’m there, but I don’t mind: I’m there to see the architecture, not to sunbathe. It should be great!

Vague New US TV Season Spoilers Below!

Meanwhile, and for those who read this blog because they want to hear me talk about TV stuff, I should mention that I really enjoyed the first two episodes of Heroes (who knew Mohinder had a chest like that under all those shirts?) and I love the direction the storyline this year seems to be taking. I also had no idea how much I’d missed Hiro’s happy little face and declarations of “It’s my destiny!” until I saw him again. Ah, Hiro. You bring hope to us all.

I’m quite enjoying the Smallville reboot, too, but maybe that’s because I always hated Lana and was deathly bored of Lex, and it’s great that they’re not in it any more. The Sarah Connor Chronicles opened with an absolutely magnificent episode but seems to be struggling now (and it’s struggling in the ratings, too). And, most importantly of all, Supernatural‘s season opener was so good that I absolutely can’t stop thinking about it, which is a bit of a bugger when I’m supposed to be working. If you open next month’s issue of DVD & Blu-ray Review and find the word “Castiel” randomly inserted into somebody’s review… well, I’m just going to whistle and look innocent. And possibly say “Arrrrr!” to throw you off the scent.

Next stop: Venice, relaxation and, hopefully, sweet dreams. We’ll see…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Avast, Me Hearties! Arrrrrrr!

  1. Have a super birthday and enjoy your hols!

  2. I think the most cliché-dream is dreaming that you are eating a giant marshmallow, end after waking up noticing that your pillow is gone. So I shouldn’t worry about the cliché-ness of your dreams (yet).

    And of course we wish you an unforgettable birthday in Venice!
    Though you claim that you won’t be travelling for a while, staying in Schiedam (Netherlands) is not really expensive. In fact, it’s for free?!And the ferry from Harwich is quite affordable too.
    (the last paragraph was a cleverly disguised, subliminal hint, by the way…)

  3. Lerxst

    “I can’t believe I’m at the stage of my life where I have an accountant”

    Don’t worry Jayne. I’m younger than you and I’ve had a financial advisor for almost a decade. Scarier is the fact that I’m onto the third version of my will…

    And, er, on that cheery note, hope you had a great time in Venice 🙂

  4. Same here (apart from the “I’m younger than you”-bit. From the first time I had to pay taxes (when I moved in to my own papartment), I have the help of an adviser who does my/our tax-forms. And quite a good job he does too! He is one of those types that sees the sport in legally getting as much back as possible. And at a very nice fee as well….

    So, any gondoleers crooning “happy birthday” to you while being whisked through the canals?

Leave a Reply

