Samebrainity! (Or should that be “sametrainity”?)

I was re-reading Neil Gaiman’s wonderful American Gods on the train home from work tonight when I noticed the woman sitting in front in me was reading American Gods, too.

“Snap!” I said, making her jump, and then she saw the book I was waving at her and laughed.

“What do you think of it?” she asked.

“It’s excellent,” I replied. “You?”

“Oh, it’s awesome!”

And then, because the book really is that good, we both nodded at each other, bent our heads and carried on reading like the junkies we are.

Reading. It brings people together!

Sort of.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Samebrainity! (Or should that be “sametrainity”?)

  1. Lerxst

    *Possible Spoiler*

    It is indeed an excellent book. The storytelling makes it, even when you can see the path it’s heading down. Plus there’s that element of ‘spot the god’. Not sure if this says more about me or my friends, but I seem to have been the only one to twig Low Key early on – not so much down to a great knowledge of norse gods, as having had a Top Trumps Superheroes/Villains set as a kid….

    Reminds me I’ve had a copy of Anansi Boys sat on shelf pretty much since it came out, which I must get round to reading. Though must wait a bit longer as at the moment, I’m catching up with Thursday Next.

  2. To be honest, I always though that Neil Gaiman only wrote darkish stuff, like Neverwhere or his death-comicbooks, and that Pratchett only wrote the fun bits of Good Omens. But then I read the Anansi Boys, and saw Stardust, and changed my mind.
    Of course he is good, and he has a great sense of humor (after all, he reads Jayne’s blog).
    Though fantasy isn’t my main thing, I will read more of him in the future.
    Though currently I am indulging in some teenage-nostalgia by enjoying a reprint of an Alistair MacLean classic…..

Leave a Reply

