It’s Good To Be A Geek…

This week has been the best week to be a geek since God invented Geekdom.

First off there was the new trailer for Watchmen, which is so amazing that I can’t even watch it a second time in case my head explodes with glee. I would post the link here but WordPress seems to have lost the ability to let me paste one on this page (and there was me thinking that WordPress would be more reliable than Blogger…), so if you want to see it, cut and paste this into your browser: http://www.watchmenmovie.co.uk/intl/uk/.

It looks so perfect I could cry: The Comedian and Rorschach are incredible, Dr Manhattan is spot-on and oh, how beautiful is that palace on Mars? It’s going to be a long, long wait until March…

Then, on a different note (or two), there was Joss Whedon’s wonderful Dr Horrible’s Singalong Blog, which unfortunately has been and gone (unless you’re in the USA and you can download it from iTunes, which we can’t seem to do from little old Blighty). Starring Neil Patrick Harris, Felicia Day and Nathan Fillion, it was a daft superhero musical which made me howl with laughter several times (particularly at the words “Balls”, “Penis” and “Poo”, which says a lot about my psyche, I fear). If you missed it and you can figure out how to download it legally (because if you download it illegally Joss Whedon loses money, so please don’t do that or he’ll hate you forever), watch it. It’s great!

Next came the first character poster for the new Star Trek movie:

I don’t know what you think, but I’m loving Zachary Quinto’s Spock, though I’m sad that Kirk isn’t wearing his yellow shirt (nice that they coloured them all in the correct colours, though). This and Watchmen are my two most looked-forward to films of 2009; I’ll be having palpitations in the cinema come March with Watchmen and who knows if I’ll survive until May for Star Trek? I’ll be a wreck. Mark my words.

And finally in my rota of geek delights… The Dark Knight.

I’m not sure that ‘love’ is a strong enough word to describe what I thought of it. I adored every minute – and there are a lot of them, as it’s very long – and felt it tried its damnedest to be a mainstream movie; kind of like a crime thriller which just so happens to have superheroes in it. Although they’re not really superheroes, to be honest – just f**ked up men having a f**ked up time.

Bale was great, allowing his supporting cast to steal the film away from him while his gadgets did all the work. Heath Ledger is as good as everybody says he is, although if the poor chap hadn’t died nobody would be even mentioning the ‘O’ word because, as we all know, the Academy don’t give a damn about performances in fantasy movies. There was a glimmer of hope a few years ago when Johnny Depp was nominated for Jack Sparrow, but I fear that’s all we’re getting for this century. Which is a shame because Ledger is very, VERY good. Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent is every inch as good, too; his is a genuinely heartbreaking character arc that took me totally by surprise.

Best of all, The Dark Knight makes Gotham City a real, living, breathing city, far more than Christopher Nolan managed in Batman Begins, in which Gotham was always shrouded in night. This Gotham is all skyscrapers gleaming in the sunlight and car-strewn highways. Hell, it’s CHICAGO! (Aside: in Batman Begins they even mention County General Hospital, which any fan of ER will recognise instantly as Chicago’s most interesting medical centre.) It’s so refreshing to have a superhero movie take place in a city that isn’t set among a New York or Los Angeles skyline, and the fact that Batman actually goes to Hong Kong in this really expands the film’s believability.

It’s amazing. It flabbered my gast. Go see it as soon as you can.

Dear lord, it’s good to be a geek this week.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s Good To Be A Geek…

  1. Jenni

    I’m also getting excited about the X Files movie!! Didn’t know that this was coming until a week ago! Yay for Mulder and Scully!

  2. Lerxst

    I’m not expecting much from the Trek movie. Firstly, it’s a reboot of well-loved characters, and while it can work (BSG), I think there are far more examples of such attempts turning into hideous car crashes. Second, it’s Trek, and let’s be honest, Trek movies have a somewhat patchy history. So expectations there well and truly contained. It is a nice poster mind.

    But thank you, thank you, thank you for flagging up the Watchmen trailer. That one had sneaked past me. And oh wow…. great to see Rorschach. Just hoping the film lives up to the trailer….

    As for The Bat, I’m seeing this weekend so no judgement yet.

  3. I too have had my fingers burned in the past after getting excited about movie pre-publicity.. but… both movies look bloody awesome from what I’ve seen so far.. roll on 2009 (wishing my life away again in the name of geekdom!)

  4. Lerxst

    Well, saw The Dark Knight this afternoon, and enjoyed it immensely – much, much better than Batman Begins which never felt like it really worked to me. Ledger is excellent, but it’s also good to see Aaron Eckhart edging towards greater recognition (after past lower budget glories as In The Company of Men & Thank You For Smoking).

    If I had one criticism, there wasn’t enough Maggie Gyllenhaal. But then I’d say the glorious Secretary didn’t have enough Maggie Gyllenhaal so I may be hard to please on that one…

    Not a criticism of the film in the slightest, but in reality I suspect the only thing stopping your average joe bloggs going straight for the trigger & blowing the convicts to hell would be the fear of a Joker doublecross with the detonator blowing your own boat up. But maybe I’m just deeply cynical about human nature.

  5. jaynenelson

    I totally agree with you on that last point. I thought that too!

Leave a Reply

