Holy Who!

Halfway through tonight’s episode of Doctor Who I sent a text message to my mate Biddy which read:

“This is fucking awesome.”

“Fucking right it is,” came the reply.

And it was! It also really reminded me of an episode of Buffy, more than any other Who episode I’ve ever seen, but I’ll be buggered if I can put my finger on why right now because I’m still freaking out about that ending.

I never, ever watch trailers or read spoilers for future episodes, so I have no idea what’s going to happen next week, but lord knows how they’ll beat “Turn Left”. Marvellous. Simply marvellous.

See that awe over there? I’m in it.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Holy Who!

  1. Lerxst

    I’m obviously getting too old and cynical, and I’ve reached the stage now where I’m dreading another RTD series ending which involves a ridiculous deus ex machina (Rose becomes god, Dobby becomes an angel…).

    I think the result is that I’m getting frightfully picky. The central idea was a good one, and the falling apart of the UK was nicely done. However, the whole thing with Rose ‘We need one man and I’ve been sent back through time and space to save the universe(s)’ Tyler had me groaning. And I found myself going for the sort of niggly criticism of other aspects that, from someone else, I’d dismiss with a ‘get a life’ comment. So to be thinking it myself.. well, hmm… maybe I should just go and shoot myself now.

    Anyhow, I’m going to reserve judgment for next week. I do know what’s coming next week, well, part anyway. I hope they pull it off, but when I found out, I did groan.

  2. It was strong stuff for seven o’clock on a Saturday night, wasn’t it? London getting nuked, refugees and labour camps. The shots of the mushroom cloud and the immigrant family getting hauled away will stay with me for a long time, I think.

  3. Lizwc

    It was the season Buffy 3 episode – Buffy never comes to Sunnydale, “the whole world sucks because some ditz made a wish”, vampire-ravaged city falling apart episode. I can never remember episode titles. But yes! No doctor = war-torn desolate whole world sucks, but this time cos “some ditz” turned right… altho the episode hung on Catherine Tate’s far from ditzy portrayal of Donna’s response to the world falling apart.
    Jaw droppingly brilliant. Possibly best episode of Who ever.

    Altho I’ve been muttering for a while that Torchwood S2 was Buffy S4. I wonder if RTD has been on a Whedon masterclass?

  4. Matt

    The Buffy Episode was The Wish

  5. Jenni

    I didn’t move a muscle watching “Turn Left” – I thought it was superb and must admit I didn’t think about “The Wish” at all although I am a huge Buffy fan. I love Catherine Tate as Donna but I think the supporting actors they have every week are excellent too. I’m gutted that I’m going to be out on Saturday night so will have to wait until Sunday to see the next Episode as I don’t have SKY+ yet!!

  6. Lerxst

    “Possibly best episode of Who ever”. Check out this assessment from the Telegraph:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/arts/main.jhtml?xml=/arts/exclusions/doctor-who/top-10-doctor-who-episodes.xml

    Ok, we’d all have different lists but personally my pick from old Who would be similar (not sure about Fenric..). I’d definitely have all three Tom Baker stories up there, and at the moment I’d have Blink as the best of the new series.

Leave a Reply

