Badly Titled Movies

I just watched the Peter Cook/Dudley Moore version of Bedazzled, kindly provided for my viewing pleasure by the woman decorating my flat (she got West Side Story and Riding Giants in return). It was fun, although the best thing about it was discovering that apparently Heaven is located in Syon House, a mere 20 minute walk from where I live. So that’s good to know.

I also watched Grosse Pointe Blank, which was good fun (though I don’t get why so many people absolutely rave about it). I loathe the name, however, and think they really missed a trick in not calling it The Hitman And Her. But I guess that was taken.

Also? Season one of Californication is brilliant. But don’t watch it on a train, m’kay? It’s a bit rude…

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Badly Titled Movies

  1. Lerxst

    Ok, I won’t rave about Grosse Pointe Blank… though it is a great film (as is almost everything with John Cusack in). The script is just a corker.

    “Psychopaths kill for no reason. I kill for money.”

  2. jaynenelson

    It’s a good film, I won’t deny it! But I’d expected something even better after hearing so many people rave. Funny how that happens sometimes. I think I preferred Lucky Number Slevin and nobody says anything about that…

  3. Lerxst

    Yeah, expectations can be a problem. It took me six attempts to get past the monkeys in 2001:ASO without falling asleep and it wasn’t worth the effort.

    But then I can’t see why Demolition Man isn’t more highly rated. 🙂

  4. Derek Landy

    Reading this post straight after the previous one, about Torquay, and one of your last lines being “You can’t go home again”, made me flash to the line in Grosse Point Blank when he realises his old home has been bulldozed and a convenience store erected in its place:

    “You can’t go home again. But I guess you can shop there.”

    Love that film. Before Bourne, the single best fight scene ever.

    EVER.

  5. Larc

    Reason it’s called Grosse Pointe Blank – set in Grosse Pointe, MI (Seriously, about 20 mins from where I live, although it’s not heaven like you have!). We were pretty excited.

  6. jaynenelson

    I only just noticed your comment, Larc! I think Grosse Pointe would have been a far nicer name than Grosse Pointe Blank. Grosse Pointe sounds… mysterious. Although I assume the real place isn’t mysterious at all…!

  7. L'il Ted

    It’s Grosse Pointe because of where it’s set, but it’s Pointe Blank as a little reference to John Boorman’s classic Point Blank which also had a man revisiting his past for murderous reasons – although Lee Marvin’s mission was more personal and his character less likeable (this film in turn was remade as Payback with Mel Gibson which was good but not a patch on the original).

Leave a Reply

