The Pursuit Of Filminess

Ironically, the day after I posted a message saying that I’d hurt my wrist, it got a lot better. So much for any sympathy that might have been headed my way!

However, I’m still wearing bandages, using heat patches and massaging it, while also doing the same for the other wrist, which I swear is only aching because it’s jealous of all the attention its partner is getting. But it’s not stopped me from working, thank goodness: so far today I’ve transcribed two phone interviews, started my next Rewind feature for SFX, tweaked a piece I scribbled for Judge Dredd Megazine, discussed amendments to an advertorial for Total Film and sent off some invoices. Phew!

I also watched The Pursuit of Happyness, which was mediocre, if you excuse Will Smith’s son Jaden being the Personification of Cute. Happyness is just a small part of my ongoing plan to watch every goddamn DVD I can get my hands on from now onwards; I know a lot about movies but it’s so easy to fall behind, and there are some crucial gaps in my knowledge for older films, too.  Tonight I have Disturbia lined up, or possibly Goodbye Bafana (it depends on how I’m feeling).  Tomorrow Rocky III arrives from my Amazon rental list (I’ve never seen it), and last weekend I saw Blood Diamond (which had a good message but got a bit silly at times – great performance from DiCaprio, however), Snakes On A Plane (rubbish, but I will admit that I laughed a lot) and Apocalypto (brilliant, except for the stupid quicksand bit because quicksand only exists in the movies and not in real life and you’d have thought the screenwriters would have checked something like that before being dumb enough to put it in the script).

On a classier note, last night I sat down to watch 1967’s Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner.  I really enjoyed it, particularly the moment when Sidney Poitier tells his father, “You think of yourself as a coloured man. I think of myself as a man.” Ouch… Oh, and knowing that Spencer Tracy died 17 days after the end of filming gave all his scenes with Katharine Hepburn an added poignancy, too, and his final monologue was unbearably sad because of this knowledge. I had a genuine lump in my throat when the credits rolled.

But, as is the way with geeks like me, it didn’t last long, because I called my friend Paul to talk about the movie and for a moment we had our wires crossed because last week’s episode of Battlestar Galactica was called Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner, too.

Hmm. Which came first: my desire to see the 1967 movie, or me seeing the title of the episode? I fear I am easily influenced, even if I don’t always notice…

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Pursuit Of Filminess

  1. Lerxst

    “my ongoing plan to watch every goddamn DVD”

    Hmm. How about a top 10 obscure sci-fi/fantasy films one must have seen to be a real geek? To kick things off I’d throw in Buckaroo Banzai, but I’ve no doubt you’ve seen that, it’s been cult for so long. But how about Killer Tongue? Supportng roles for Doug Bradley, Robert Englund, & Eddie Tudorpole and one of the silliest films of the 90s.

  2. Jenni

    I think you should plan to watch a top 10 of so bad they’re good sci-fi series. I’m currently working my way through VR5 starring Lori Singer and Anthony Head (pre Buffy I think!). IMDB describes it as “cult Sci-fi” – I feel it’s comedy genius with proper daytime soap acting in it! I’ve gotta watch Buckaroo Banzai – with a name like that, it’s now on my list.

  3. Lerxst

    Even better given its full title of ‘The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai: Across The Eighth Dimension’… 🙂 Worth a look just to see certain future stars before they made it.

    As for the so bad so good TV series, we’re back to Buck & Wilma! With an honorable mention to Space 1999 and Battle of the Planets.

  4. Jenni

    Battle of the planets was legend! I loved that series so much but apparently a lot of violence was cut out for our viewing and they also inserted 7 zark 7 and 1 rover 1 to explain to the UK audiences what was actually going on! And I love UFO – oh to wear a silver outfit and a pink wig 🙂

  5. Lerxst

    Hmm…think I’ll leave the pink wig to you 🙂 But yeah, UFO was fun, and without the seemingly interminably long intro, repeated EVERY episode, that blighted The Invaders. As for BotP, it was the best thing about Saturday morning TV….

    Uh oh…Jayne’s gonna get angry… we’re chatting without her… (Don’t want to make her mad…).

    Actually, Jayne, I’ve been a bit amiss – I did mean to say, I hope the wrists are still getting better/fully recovered!

Leave a Reply

