The Heat Is On

It’s very hot today and I am now well into my grumpy “I hate summer” persona. I’m sitting in my lounge with three – yes, THREE – fans twirling the air as hard as they can, and my poor attic flat is still roasting away under the sun like the Kalahari Desert in July.

I hate this time of year. In fact, I hate this time of year all the way to October. One day I’ll get my act together and spend winters in the UK and summers in New Zealand, but until then I’m going to have to suffer.

However, I am a little tickled by the fact my fans keep making the cape on the toy Superman figure behind my TV billow out behind him like he’s flying. It’s a small silver lining, true, but it’s all I have.

I hope you’re enjoying the sun, even if I’m not.

(Weirdo summer-worshipping freaks…)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Heat Is On

  1. Ruud V

    We have weather like yours here in the Lowlands as well, and it can be a bit too warm. But as I just have discovered, a lot can be improved with a backgarden, and two pump-action supersoakers. Jasmijn and I have been shooting at each other for a big part of the afternoon, and it shames me to say that I feel quite good about beaing a better shooter than my three year old daughter….
    Sad, isn’t it?
    But rest assured Jayne, with the climate we’re having, it can be back to autumn in a heartbeat….

  2. Lerxst

    Generally I’m with you all te way Jayne (as is my PC which is threatening to overheat). However, while I’d like it a few degrees cooler, given I’ve just spent the last week on a photography holiday in Cumbria I can’t complain too much. It wouldn’t have been quite so much fun tramping around in the traditional Lakes rain!

  3. I’ve been at my monthly fencing workshop today doing bayonet vs cutlass in a church hall where the temperatures were nudging 30 degrees wearing a polo shirt, fencing jacket, gauntlets and a mask (for some of the time). I was a rather sweaty bunny by the end of it …

  4. Jenni

    I’m very hungover today and must admit when I read your post, I took the bit about the fans making Supe’s cape bellow as you having an entourage of Jayne worshippers at your beck and call!! Still chuffed that the Doctor’s daughter was called Jenny last night – it’s the little things in life but I do love the sunshine as it’s just the right temperature for me. 🙂

  5. Mandy

    I reckon if you did live in NZ during the summer, you’d have to live somewhere like Invercargill…it’s got the same summer climate as Scotland! Whereas where I live the summer temps hit the high 30s and in some areas of the North Island (Auckland for example) you have the high summer humidity to battle with…Not wishing to burst your bubble….

Leave a Reply

