Happenings

I’m now just a few days away from my long-awaited trip to Vancouver, which is currently shaping up to contain:

1) Lots of sightseeing.

2) Lots of relaxing.

3) Lots of photography.

4) Lots of me crossing my fingers about something.

5) No work at all.

6) Apart from the photography.

7) And the thing I’m crossing my fingers about.

Hmm. Was that vague enough? It’s very difficult trying to write about what’s happening in your life when you’re sworn to secrecy, even if the things you’re sworn to secrecy about aren’t actually that interesting, but your employers don’t want another magazine knowing anyway. It either makes you sound enigmatic and mysterious or annoyingly smug and irritating. Unfortunately, that’s kind of how it goes, and it was either this or I write another post about how much I love The Sarah Connor Chronicles, but I just wrote an SFX column on that, so there you go.

It’s a strange old life, being a freelance journalist – or, in my case, half freelance journalist and half freelance sub-editor, as I tend to work half-and-half on each. Just this week I was double-booked and had to turn down both a set visit on a new TV show and a set visit on the new Harry Potter movie, which, as you can probably imagine, was rather upsetting. (Although I hear from the person who visited Hogwarts on my behalf that there was no Snape to be seen, so I feel better about not going.)

I also attended a preview of all the new movies being released by Fox over the next year or so, some of them coming with personal messages from the likes of Baz Luhrmann, Eddie Murphy and James Cameron (on the set of Avatar, no less, although the cameraman wasn’t allowed to show us anything). Of the selection I’d say that M Night Shyamalan’s The Happening looked the most intriguing, and I was stunned at how many of the romantic comedies were set in New York. What, does nobody fall in love in Kansas or Nebraska or South Dakota? Why does New York get all the star-crossed pretty people? And why didn’t I get star-crossed when I was there?

After the preview I was sitting in a cafe in Soho, writing a feature for SFX, when who should walk by the window but three members of the magazine itself – which might not sound amazing, but SFX is based in Bath, so it was. They were just as stunned to see me as I was to see them, and understandably very happy that I hadn’t spotted them walking out of a sex shop or anything. We ended up spending what seemed like an hour chatting inside the Vintage Magazine Shop until the guy on the desk politely asked us if he could help us with anything (shopspeak for “Buy something or bog off”).

Waving goodbye to the guys, I then went off to have a meal with a friend (unnamed for their own protection) who told me how they’d arranged an interview with Madonna and had never seen so many make-up and hair people around one person in their life; they had to fight their way through a cloud of face powder and hairspray just to catch a glimpse of her. Which reminds me: how amazing was Tilda Swinton when she turned up to the Oscars with no make-up on? I’m still not sure about the dress, but the hair and face were great. I’d like to see Madge do that!

And oh dear, I’m rambling a bit now. I’m also very tired. I’ve been working almost non-stop since the start of the year and I’m trying to get as much work as possible out of the way before my holiday, so my poor brain is suffering. It’s wonderful to be busy and I wouldn’t have it any other way, but occasionally it’s hard to think straight. Am I writing a blog entry, a review, a feature or an advertorial right now?

But I love Sarah Connor. That much I DO know. I hope you’re watching it…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vancouver

3 responses to “Happenings

  1. Good luck with the mysterious finger crossing thing whatever it may be!

  2. Ruud V.

    Hace a great stay in Canada! I stull remember quite clearly how impressed I was with the clean streets and parks, and the space they have there. After a lifetime in the crowded Netherlands, it was really a cultureshock.
    I hope to go back someday…

  3. Ruud V.

    …I forgot! The finger-crossing thing, does that by any chance mean that someone is trying to arrange a snog with the Winchester-boys?

Leave a Reply

