Why Barack Obama Should Be The Next President Of The United States

I’m the first to admit that I don’t know much about American politics, but I do know a lot about American television. Through American television, by osmosis, I know a lot about America. And, as the following brilliant article by Peter Aspden for the Financial Times website points out…

Article on The Wire

… Barack Obama knows a lot about America, too:

“Late last year, in a poll in the US’s TV Guide, The Wire was revealed to be one of Barack Obama’s favourite shows. (Some context: Hillary Clinton responded with, among others, American Idol, while Mitt Romney chose Lost.)”

If Barack Obama watches The Wire, you can rest assured that he knows his country. The Wire shows America at its rawest, exposing not only its dirty underbelly but its filthy head, shoulders and scabby knees too. It’s easy to call The Sopranos The Greatest Television Show Ever Made because, by Hell, it is. But so is The Wire. There’s a certain fantastical edge to The Sopranos, a slickness, a poise, that means it’s not 100% believable, good as it is, but The Wire is so believable that you can almost smell the stink of crack dens, drug money and corruption (which, looking at the evidence, whiffs of cigars and briefcase leather).

Season five – its last – began airing on HBO this week in the US, and the show has lost none of its power. As Aspden points out, this isn’t a series you can pick up on late in the day: you need to watch it from the start. But, if you need proof that The Wire is the show for you, check out this episode’s pre-credits teaser, which has a bunch of Baltimore homicide detectives tricking a suspect into thinking he’s taking a lie detector test by taping his hand to a photocopier.

I’m not saying Barack Obama needs to learn tricks like this, but if he’s watching, it means he understands what drove them to do it. And that’s reason enough for him to become the most powerful man on Earth.

Maybe then he can do something about it.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Why Barack Obama Should Be The Next President Of The United States

  1. Derek Landy

    Long time reader, first time poster…

    I blame you for a lot of things, Miss Nelson. It is your fault I buy the Supernatural box sets. It is your fault my love of American muscle cars was reignited, which led to me buying a 1966 Ford Mustang and driving it around Dublin like an attention-seeking idiot.

    And it is your fault I watch The Wire. It was your description of the “Fuck” scene in season one that did it…

    So thank you, for The Wire, and for my car. I’m still not entirely sure I should thank you for Supernatural, though. I just, it…

    I just don’t know yet.

  2. Ruud Visser

    …did any candidates listed The Westwing as a fave programme?

  3. Lerxst

    Government by TV? Hmm, can’t say I’m convinced (unless of course, one of the candidates picked The Prisoner…)

    But what the heck, just so long as Hillary loses. It’s not as if my preference (Ron Paul) is going to get anywhere near, after all.

  4. Jayne Nelson

    Hey Derek!

    Good to hear from you. I’m *stunned* to hear that you bought a Mustang because I kept wibbling on about American muscle cars, though I’m sorely disappointed you didn’t go for a 67 Chevy Impala, a 76 Gran Torino or a 1970 Dodge Challenger. For shame!

    But you watch The Wire, so I’ll forgive you. And stick with Supernatural – halfway through season one it clicks, and by the finale it’s firing on all cylinders. Season two’s pretty good and season three kicks ass!

    … and Ruud, I can only assume they picked The West Wing. If they didn’t, we’re doomed.

  5. Lizwc

    Never seen The Wire… though I can’t get enough of Supernatural… But Hillary choosing American Idol has me really worried… what next? Gordon Brown reveals he never misses The Jeremy Kyle Show?

Leave a Reply

