The Return Of A Crowded House (and Crowded House: the band)

My friend Biddy is coming to stay with me on Friday, so I might not be able to blog for a week or so. We haven’t seen each other for over a year and intend to make the most of our time together. This is our itinerary as it stands so far:

1) See Crowded House in concert at Wembley Arena.
2) See Crowded House in concert at the Royal Albert Hall.
3) Watch every episode of Supernatural‘s third season again.
4) Visit the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition at the Natural History Museum.
5) Visit the Tutankhamun exhibition.
6) Shop.
7) Eat lots of junk food.
8) On one of the two days during which I have to work, we’ll meet up for lunch and then she will go on to London Zoo while I go back to work (I’m not looking forward to that very much).
9) Watch some more Supernatural.
10) Open a ridiculous amount of Christmas presents and laugh at how dumb they are.

All in all, it should be a good week!

And… It’s photo time! (I love my cameraphone. Can you tell? Just wait until I hit New York, folks!)

This is Doris Salcedo’s art installation at Tate Modern, ‘Shibboleth’, which is essentially a honking big crack running the entire length of the Turbine Hall. Apparently it represents “power’s divisive operations as encoded in the brutal narratives of colonialism, their unhappy aftermaths in postcolonial nations, and in the stand-off between rich and poor, northern and southern hemispheres.”

Which is a rather poncy way of saying “I made a honking big crack and called it art.”

The funny thing is, people keep falling down it. There are signs everywhere and it’s not exactly wide (see photo below, with my foot for scale), and yet several people have shoved their ankles into it and hurt themselves.

Now, call me cruel, but you have to be A SPECIAL KIND OF STUPID to trip over the very thing you’ve come to the gallery to see, don’t you?

This is the big spidery sculpture thing outside the Tate that looks bloody terrifying, although these kids didn’t seem to be bothered…

Note St Paul’s Cathedral in the background – which, I’ve just discovered, costs a whopping £9.50 to enter. It’s expensive to talk to God nowadays. I’m SO in the wrong business.

And finally, Covent Garden in Christmas mode. By gum, that’s purty!

See you in a week or so. Be good! Although don’t, because that’s boring.

(By the way, you can click on these pics and make them bigger if you want. Just thought I’d mention it. Did I say I love my cameraphone? Oh, I did? Sorry…)

5 Comments

Filed under Supernatural

5 responses to “The Return Of A Crowded House (and Crowded House: the band)

  1. Lerxst

    Enjoy the Wildlife Photography exhibition – it is stunning. In particular watch out for the bear shot (you’ll know the one…) and the flying penguin…..

  2. Badger Madge

    i want a friend called biddy…

  3. Biddy Brumpton

    That can be arranged! I’m quite a friendly bird, really!

  4. Lizwc

    That crack… all those sprained ankles. Proof surely that the Darwinist “survival of the fittest” is a crock?

  5. Ben

    I saw two old people holding hands across the crack in the Tate Modern. It was the sweetest thing I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

