Don’t Call Him A Science Fiction Writer, Or He’ll Find You And Tear Out Your Liver*

Today I went back to work after nearly three months, and it was great! Right up until 3pm, at least, which was when I got all sleepy and found myself wanting to go home. There’s no pleasing some people, eh?

Still, I enjoyed seeing everybody again, and they enjoyed commenting on my BRIGHT new hair colour. Once again I am SFX‘s “flame-haired vixen of science fiction”! And people stare at me when I’m on the Underground, too. BRIGHT. I’m tellin’ ya. REALLY, REALLY, REALLY BRIGHT. Phew!

And now onto someone who’s definitely not a flame-haired vixen, but certainly possesses an opinion on science fiction… I found the following 1980 interview with the author Harlan Ellison on YouTube today. He expresses some rather strong views on being called a science fiction writer.

Stick with the interview to the end – it’s worth it:

Isn’t he great? I stumbled across the footage by accident but it’s rekindled my twentysomething love for Ellison’s work.

I’m off to read “Repent, Harlequin!” Said The Ticktockman for the eleventy billionth time now.

Mrmee, mrmee, mrmee…

* This is what Ellison told Starlog many, many years ago, and it’s stuck with me ever since (can’t think why). The guy’s just made of quotes!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Don’t Call Him A Science Fiction Writer, Or He’ll Find You And Tear Out Your Liver*

  1. Kikishua

    I do wish he’d worn a different colour t-shirt though… that flesh colour was very distracting!

  2. Jayne Nelson

    I have a feeling that if you mock his fashion sense, he’ll find you and tear out your spleen.

  3. Ruud Visser

    …I wonder if afterwards he had that liver with some fava-beans and a nice Chianti…

  4. Lerxst

    Bright? Are we talking Jane Goldman?

Leave a Reply

