So long, and thanks for all the fish…

So. I’m not stupid. I didn’t leave windows open around my foster kitty in case he decided to return to the wild. Of course, I soon discovered that having a cat in an enclosed space can get a bit whiffy, particularly if they accidentally missed their litter tray one time (and felt really guilty about it afterwards, if you can read guilt into a cat’s face).

So I did leave my lounge window open one inch last night (after ascertaining, using a scientific process, that Mal couldn’t have squeezed through the gap in a million years because he had a very large head). Then I tied the window handle to my radiator, tested its strength and went to bed safe in the knowledge that, barring the cat untying the string, the window wouldn’t open.

And guess what?

The cat untied the string.

Somehow.

I didn’t see any opposable thumbs, but apparently they were there.

There was a 30ft drop outside the window, but a roof off to one side which he obviously managed to land on.

So.

I won’t be seeing Thomas O’Malley, or his thumbs, ever again.

*sniff*

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “So long, and thanks for all the fish…

  1. Badger Madge

    Oh no! Poor Mr O’Mally! But he might come back, you never know. I’m sure he’ll be missing that feather boa…

    xx

  2. neil h

    He’s chipped, so if he’s picked up (and there’s a very good chance of that seeing as he’s a friendly, domesticated moggy) then he’ll be ok. I worry about my cats going out, but they always come back when it’s time for food (or snoozing on the bed).

    I hope he’s found soon!

  3. Jayne Nelson

    No he won’t – they never do! The woman at the animal rescue charity says he’s the fourth cat to escape from a foster home this year and they’re never seen again.

    I just don’t understand how he removed the string. I’d swear he had help.

  4. Badger Madge

    it was his sharp catty claws and sharp catty teeth. also, you’d be amazed t the teeny tiny holes cats get get thru. they’re very squishy…

    poor jayne.

  5. Jayne Nelson

    Hey Neil – he is chipped, but I don’t think anyone will catch him as he’s very timid, though he does love a cuddle.

    Typical. You try to do a nice thing, and you end up making it worse. Sigh…

  6. Lerxst

    Bugger! Well, fingers crossed that he’s the first to be found this year.

    Maybe next time they ought to put a tracker chip in him, so you can use GPS to find him.

  7. Sue S

    Sorry to read about Mal’s disappearing act.

    Please don’t let it put you off trying to help in future though.

Leave a Reply

