Adventures In 3D

For anyone who’s interested, here’s an update on my poorly back (and I should mention here that I’ve been quite humbled at how many people have wished me well, both on this blog, on MySpace and on Facebook, not to mention emailing me directly, so thank you all!): the injection worked a little. Just a wee bit. Enough to take the edge off the pain, but only when it feels like it, and I still get a horribly numb leg and am pretty much crippled. Even the addition of Very Strong Painkillers(TM) haven’t helped too much – and they make me woozy and dizzy and quite tired, so bugger. I’m probably back to how I was two months ago, so I have improved, but it’s not enough.

Next step: chat with the surgeon on 13 August. I will beg for surgery. Again. Until then, the painkillers mean I can just about go shopping (woohoo!) and my leg doesn’t hurt so much when I’m in bed at night, so I’m thankful for small mercies.

End of update.

Last night I went to see Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix for the second time, only this time at the IMAX with the last 20 minutes in 3D. Incidentally, I had no idea the IMAX at Waterloo was the UK’s largest screen until the manager told us all beforehand; he also babbled on about how the sound is the best sound you can ever get and I totally agree with him, it was awesome, but I do wish the film hadn’t looked so blurry compared to how it looked on the screen at the Empire Leicester Square last time I saw it. I guess bigger isn’t always better.

Anyway, the upshot was this: I’ve never found Voldemort scary. But in 3D? I nearly wet my pants. He’s naaaaasty! The final showdown – which involves lots of flying glass – was stunning, and there’s something unimaginably cool about watching Harry Potter flying out of the screen on his broomstick. I’m still disappointed that we’re in the 21st century and nobody’s invented holographic movies (come on Lucas! Come on Cameron! You’re the most likely candidates), but until then 3D will do nicely.

The final Potter novel comes out next week. With the last book, I had to read it in one day so I could write the review for SFX. This time I’m not reviewing it for anybody so I can take my time. Although I have a sneaking suspicion I’m gonna read it in one day regardless… who’s with me?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Adventures In 3D

  1. Lerxst

    Ouch. I hadn’t realised the back was so bad. Here’s hoping the injection is just taking its time to have the full effect. They did say it could take weeks, didn’t they? Fingers crossed, and all the best.

  2. Jayne Nelson

    Thank you! I should point out that when I said “I can finally go shopping” I didn’t mean it to sound like I’ve been stuck in the house, unable to even buy a pint of milk. I CAN go food shopping, but since the injection I’ve been able to go clothes shopping, too, which obviously involves much more standing and walking and is far more important than a 10-minute trip to Tescos.

    So, um, hurrah! Having sciatica can really cripple your wardrobe, let alone your back. 🙂

  3. Lerxst

    Oh, that’s all right then.. where would a woman be if she couldn’t go CLOTHES shopping?!

    Actually, thinking about it, I guess sciatica probably has a limiting effect on the shoes you can wear and that must be close to female hell. 🙂

    Sorry. I shouldn’t tease as it does sound awful. Seriously, all the best.

  4. Farran

    Well it’s good to hear you have a bit more movement, if not that the pain is still awful. Good luck with the consultant and the next stage, I’m not a big fan of pain myself.

    (It’s the same one from MySpace btw, but I figured I should just sign up a google address and comment here rather than sound random over there!)

    I’ve yet to see HP5 and got my timings wrong – I finished my readthrough of Potter 1-6 a week ago so right now is a time of tension and strange untypical acts like reading fan fiction. The cinema trip really should have come sooner but packed out cinemas are a bit of an issue.

    It’s good to know you don’t have to mainline the book I’m sure :o) though I think we’ll all have to speed through if we want to live in a world with any kind of media in as all the big bits will get shouted about by the quicker readers big on sharing… I wish I’d not read a comment about spoilsports at the midnight openings last time round as the very thought brings on huge anxiety! Oh the joyous anticipation of new Harry Potter – :oP

  5. Badger Madge

    Hi hun, sorry to hear it’s not helped as much as you wanted. Hmmm. Good luck with your meeting with the docs and glad to hear you can now shop! Yay to shopping…

    I always *have* to read HP over the weekend as I’m terrified of finding out what happens from someone else. And plus I can be awfully smug when I see others sifting thru it as quick as poss a week later. Mwa ha haa!

  6. Anny

    I have ordered my copy from a cute little book shop that has a cute little puppy, and yes i don’t think it will take long to read

Leave a Reply

