The Haunting

I was lying in bed last night and I heard someone snoring.

Not, you might think, anything unusual. Except that I live alone. And my neighbours don’t sleep anywhere within earshot.

Alright, so I do watch a lot of Supernatural, and I had just listened to the podcast for the Doctor Who episode “Blink” before going to bed (which, as you may recall, gave me nightmares when I saw it a few weeks ago). But I absolutely didn’t imagine it: it was real, genuine snoring, emanating from the bottom of my bed, and there was nothing in the room that could’ve made that noise AT ALL.

I think it’s fair to say I was a bit freaked out.

But seriously – what kind of ghost SNORES?

(And I just know some smartass is gonna say “One with a sinus problem” now.)

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Haunting

  1. Ruud Visser

    The Supernatural repeats are just not interesting anymore?
    Maybe you should watch more Yvette Fielding?

  2. Anny

    maybe you have a mouse or rat with breathing problems like they get, or it could be one of your old girls reminding you they are still around,i say this thinking they may have had breathing probs in there old age but i can’t remember

  3. Ruud Visser

    …on the other hand, there are no ghosts. What you observed was probable sunlight reflecting on an escaped weatherballoon or something…

  4. Lerxst

    God, this is going to sound patronising, but the Scully in me just has to say, is there any chance you were asleep and just dreamt it?

  5. Jayne Nelson

    I was most definitely not asleep – my eyes were even open when I heard it! I kind of wish I had been… then I wouldn’t be scared of my bedroom now… sigh…

  6. Lerxst

    Ah, but you could have dreamt you had your eyes open! 🙂 Seriously though, hopefully it’s just a one off, and in a few months you’ll have convinced yourself it was all in your mind. At least, I always have when weird things have happened. It’s easier to live with.

  7. Badger Madge

    Maybe you were in that state between sleeping and waking and started snoring and that woke you from your weird state…??

    Or maybe it wasn’t snoring maybe it was a sound that sounds like snoring, like maybe an oddly sounding creaking board???

  8. Lerxst

    As if dear Jayne snores! What a scandalous suggestion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

