Things to say "hello" to…

My friend Natalie had a beautiful baby girl a few days ago. My friend Liz had a baby boy. Young Sureyya and young Freddie are no doubt destined to grow up and fall in love. Fate has decreed it so!

Congratulations to both families – and may your new offspring live long and happy lives!

Not quite as momentous, true, but I have new baby too: a shiny iPod. After years remaining loyal to my faithful Sony Walkman (won in an SFX quiz many years ago), I wandered by the iPod store in Regent Street and pondered whether I should indulge myself – only to discover the very next morning that my Walkman had given up the ghost. I honestly think my traitorous thoughts broke its heart. Still, now I have 550 songs (and counting) in my pocket, am downloading stupid amounts from iTunes and had the joy of watching the Vodcast of Have I Got News For You on the train to work this morning. Gave me the warm fuzzies, it did!

The only downside is that the screen merrily displays whatever I’m listening to, and I’m convinced my fellow commuters are judging me for liking Ricky Martin. Bugger.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Things to say "hello" to…

  1. Jamie Starbuck

    Colour?? Spec?? Jeez. You go to the point of buying the over-priced, under featured thing, you may as well shout about it! 😉

    (Creative Zen’s rule!)

  2. Badger Madge

    *stomps foot* I want a TV iPod. *pouts*

    And er… Ricky Martin? If I didn’t love you unconditionally, Jayne, I’d disown you.

  3. Jayne Nelson

    I’d like to point out that Ricky’s Spanish albums – the ones he released before ‘Livin’ La Vida Loca’ – are great! Don’t judge him by his English work!

  4. Jayne Nelson

    And yes, I’m very sad.

  5. Lerxst

    Oh Jayne. You’re letting the side down. As a sci-fi nut you’re supposed to be into things like Rush, Marillion, and Iron Maiden, maybe Queensryche before deGarmo left and they went all crap. If you were older, a bit of Yes. The closest you get to dance music is the Time Warp.

  6. Magic Bellybutton

    I hide my iPod in my bag so people can’t see what I’m listening to. Having the backlight switch off in a few seconds helps too.

    Much embarrassment can be found on my iPod if you know where to look.

  7. Badger Madge

    Well I suppose I can own up to some corkers seeing as we’re sharing. I have Girls Aloud. Greatest Hits. But only because they’re really well produced annd it’s to do with work. Honest guvnor.

    And I am rather partial to shite 90s dance…

    But yes, I agree, as a fully fledged member of the geek society, you should being doing the ‘screwing light bulbs’ dance to Duran Duran, Tori Amos and maybe a splash of Souxsie/Bowie…

Leave a Reply

