Serendipity (All Over Again)

I’ve had the strangest week.

It began with me breaking a world record.

It ended with me being told I may need major surgery on my back.*

Inbetween, to my complete and utter amazement, I met the driver of that 1972 Dodge Challenger I’ve been raving about on this blog for the last few days.

I did say it was a strange week…

*I’d like to point out that the two events are in no way related.

So Total Film threw a 10th birthday bash at the Cafe De Paris in Leicester Square on Wednesday night and Nathan Fillion was a Celebrity Guest. I had ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA he was due to turn up until the day before the party, which was when I went over to someone on the magazine and asked if they’d seen any episodes of Drive yet and they said, “Isn’t that Fillion bloke in that? He’s coming to our party tomorrow.”

Now, considering that I’d just discovered Nathan’s MySpace site and friended it, fallen in love with his new show and fallen even more in love with his new car, I call that coincidence rather serendipitous. There may have been squeaking. I won’t confirm or deny it. I’m sure you’ll agree, though, that it was a fairly squeaksome moment.

The party was excellent: huge, great fun and vastly entertaining. As, indeed, was Mr Fillion himself. It’s such a cliche to say the words “Nathan Fillion” and follow them with “…is a very nice man”, but he is! He’s also drop-dead gorgeous, effortlessly charming and looks thrilled to bits if you show him you have a photo of his 1972 Dodge Challenger as your phone wallpaper. He’ll also take you to one side and regale you with the hundreds of behind-the-scenes shots from Drive on his digital camera. And then he’ll show you some pics of him and Joss Whedon, Amy Acker and Summer Glau, then a few of his house (oooh, nice) and, inexplicably, his hotel room, of which he was hugely enamoured. Well, it was rather posh.

Unfortunately for both Nathan and all fans of Drive, the show was cancelled by Fox in the US that day (possibly while its star was actually at the party). I’m not happy, and I’m sure he’s not happy, and I hope Fox will never be happy again because they don’t deserve to be. I swear, the American public do nothing except watch television but if you wave something as original and cool as Drive in front of their noses, they yawn and turn over to American Idol. What. Is. Their. Problem?

It’s not like we’re not used to it, though. Firefly, anyone? Poor Nathan. It’s starting to be a trend…

In happier news, I’m officially a record breaker!

Last week I joined 5,567 others in Trafalgar Square to, uh, bang coconuts together in full view of the Guinness Book of Records. It was on behalf of the musical Spamalot and we were egged on by the cast of the show, London’s Mayor Ken Livingstone, Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam. I was right at the front and am actually visible in this picture, but sadly I’m very small so you’ll have to take my word for it:

I swear, you’ve never heard LOUD until you’ve heard over 5,000 people banging coconut shells together to the tune of “Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life”. I’d also like to point out that the best part of the entire evening – excusing breaking a freakin’ world record, huzzah! – was when Terry Jones walked onstage and the guy next to me yelled out, “He’s not the Messiah!”

Ah, Monty Python quotes. I want one on my headstone. Although “Dinsdale!” might look rather incongruous.

Oh yeah, and the back surgery? Sucks. I need an MRI scan first, so it’s not 100% yet, but until then I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Bizarrely, as I limped back from my hospital appointment, my local Tescos burnt down and the sight of the firefighters cheered me up quite a bit.

Did I mention I’ve had a strange week?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Serendipity (All Over Again)

  1. Heppy

    ‘kin hell mate! Hope all goes well with the scan. x

  2. Magic Bellybutton

    Bummer about your back. Hope it goes well.

    Nathan. Oooooh Nathan. What a sweet man. And hot. Did I mention he’s hot? Of course, I don’t need to tell you that!

  3. sjkhebbal

    Hi Jayne,

    I was there on St George’s Day too! Here’s my blog entry on it.

    Harry (my son) and I can be seen in that photo in your blog too because we were pretty much dead centre up against the barrier. Harry’s sitting on the floor and I’m wearing a blue & white stiped sort of rugger shirt. What an amazing day that was!

    It looks like you’re a big Python fan too. If so, please add an entry into my Wiki article. It’s funny – I thought I was going to be inundated. Instead I have to really push people to add an entry!

    Sorry to hear about your back. Do me a favour – just before you have your operation, try this You never know, it could work wonders.

    All the best, John Wood

  4. M N Ali

    Oooh sorry to hear about your back! Hope you’ll be okay. 🙂

    And *drool* Nathan Fillion. I’m so jealous right now.
    I hate FOX so much right now. Drive was fantastic and they didn’t even give it a chance. *sulks*

  5. Pat

    Hope the back thing resolves, but look after yourself, Jayne – from a fellow Fillion Flan and a fan of yours since early SFX days.
    – and Drive was just getting so GOOD!

  6. Virginia Gal

    Just a visitor passing through, couldn’t help but laughing out loud at your “what’s wrong with American tv viewers?” comment. In our defense, a ton of us did watch and support Drive but guess it wasn’t enough for Fox – whom we all hate now as well.

    Thanks for sharing your NF story, I’ve loved him since he was on a soap opera here, One Life to Live, I’m glad all the stardom has not gone to his head.

  7. Ruud Visser

    I bet mr. Fillion was a bit surprised when you bowed at his feet, right?
    Or did the surprise came only after you worked your way up?

    I hope the back-problem will soon be behind you.
    Have you ever tried swimming? I have some friends with back-problems who swear by swimming…

  8. neil h

    Trying to spot you in that picture is like playing “Where’s Wally?” – couldn’t you at least have worn a stripy jumper to make it a bit easier?

    Hope all goes well with the back op stuff …

Leave a Reply

