Drive Time

I’ve been hugely busy over the last two weeks (writing a 10,000 word book, sub-editing in my old office, meeting people, attending pilates, having acupuncture, limping a lot and watching Spider-Man 3 and being disappointed). However, one thing I HAVE found time for is a new show called Drive. It’s currently airing on the Fox network in the US, was created by Tim Minear (I bow at his feet) and stars Firefly‘s Nathan Fillion (I bow at his feet, too). And it is, quite simply, brilliant.

I’ve seen three episodes so far and each one made me whoop like a cowgirl at a rodeo. Drive‘s intelligent, funny (yet deadly serious) and the cinematography makes me want to leap on a plane to Florida, buy a car at the airport and ride some American freeways for myself.

The show’s about an illegal road race in which the participants compete for a prize of $32 million. But they’re not all in it for the money: some have been forced to take part, such as Fillion’s character, who’s driving because his wife has been kidnapped. I won’t say any more because I’m scared of spoiling it. Just make sure you bloody watch it the MINUTE it hits UK shores.

I’m also afraid to say that Drive has done the impossible: it’s toppled Starsky & Hutch‘s Ford Gran Torino and Supernatural‘s 1967 Chevy Impala in my affections. The minute I caught sight of the jet black 1972 Dodge Challenger driven by Fillion I wanted to throw myself on the bonnet and lick it all over.

Seriously.

Here’s a clip (pretty non-spoilery) to show JUST HOW FREAKING COOL THIS CAR IS:

I’m in love. I am honestly, really, super-seriously gosh-darned in love with that hunk of gleaming metal. I may never be the same again…

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Drive Time

  1. neil h

    That is now officially my favourite tv programme of all time and I haven’t even watched it yet. It looks absolutely fantastic – I don’t care if there’s no plot, just so long as they have plenty of chases with classic muscle cars … 😉

  2. Jayne Nelson

    Yaaaay! I have power and influence over people! Must start plotting to take over the world now…

    But yes, it’s ace. You’ll love it!

  3. Ruud Visser

    I don’t know. Is this the kind of car I could use to pick up Kristin Scott-Thomas for a date?

  4. Jayne Nelson

    Ruud, you could pick up ANYBODY in that car and they’d be all over you.

  5. Biddy Brumpton

    On a purely practical note, I’m betting that the Impala and the Torino both have bigger back-seats.

    I’d like to offer myself up as guinea pig to try out my theory…

  6. GoldAnne

    JAYNE IVE FOUND YOU LOL NOW I SHOULD BE ABLE TO FIND MY BLOG!!!
    BUSY READING YOU FIRST THOUGH!!!
    HEY IM GLAD YOU DIDNT LIKE SPIDER MAN, !!!
    TAKE CARE LOVE GOLD ANNE XXX

  7. neil h

    They’ve just cancelled it! Bah!

Leave a Reply

