It’s a bit magnificent…

Well, the new series of Doctor Who is in its third week on BBC TV screens… and I’m in my third week of falling in love with the show all over again. I enjoyed year one. I even loved bits of it. I enjoyed year two. I loved bits of that, too. But neither series seems to have grabbed me quite like this one has.

I don’t know if it’s The Doctor’s new suit (not that I can see any difference between this one and the old one, but my mate Biddy assures me it’s much tighter). I don’t know if it’s Martha Jones, who delighted me in episode one and has kept it up ever since. I don’t even know if it’s that the stories seem more hilarious (the “Expelliarmus!” quip in “The Shakespeare Code” had me in tucks) and dramatic (The Doctor finally telling Martha the truth about his home world in tonight’s “Gridlock”). Whatever it is, I just know that this year’s Doctor Who is the kind of show I wanted to watch when I was a kid. I wish I was ten again…

…Although a ten-year-old probably wouldn’t have watched this scene with The Doctor adorably holding a wee little cuddly kitten and had a bit of a funny turn in her ovaries:

(Sorry for the mental image. But cute man + cute kitten = much internal squee-age!)

I must also send thanks to Iain, who responded to the sight of Father Ted‘s Ardal O’Hanlan in the show by sending me a text message that read: “Ted! It’s huge crabs, Ted!”

It was like Gigglemania in my flat tonight.

6 Comments

Filed under Doctor Who

6 responses to “It’s a bit magnificent…

  1. Heppy

    Now, I was far happier with the Nissan Macra gag myself…

  2. Anny

    I think it is definatly better without Billy (her mouth and teeth are too big for her face) but yes it’s going to be a brilliant season me thinks,

  3. Anny

    sorry me again but just looking more closely at the pic and may i say that the Doctor does not seem to have any leg in the top pic

  4. neil h

    I think that you sound like exactly the sort of peep who might appreciate … 🙂

  5. Jayne Nelson

    Anny, you’re right – he’s legless!

    And Neil, thanks for the tip, but I’m already a Cuteoverload.com groupie. I’m addicted. It’s all I can do to stop myself posting pics of cute critters every damn day on this blog…

  6. Lizwc

    It’s funny how different people respond to different Doctors. I fell in love with the Eccleston’s Doctor and Tennant never quite came up to scratch last season. But this season is really working for me. I think it’s something in the chemistry with the companions… And the kittens were so cute. So so cute… I wanted to jump in and steal one…

Leave a Reply

