"I’m hot-blooded, check it and see… I got a fever of a 103…"

… And yes, I promise I will never quote lyrics from a Foreigner song on this blog ever again (blame Supernatural for making me listen to mullet rock). But they’re bloody appropriate anyway because I’ve spent the past six days feeling utterly wretched, unable to climb out of bed, either shivering or sweating or, failing that, coughing, and I’m so fed up of the whole “fever” thing now I could cry.

Being sick? Not my favourite thing.

I wouldn’t have made it if it hadn’t been for Shep. My little MacBook has stayed faithfully by my side throughout my entire illness and kept me entertained when everything else failed. I don’t know what I’d have done without him; particularly at 3am when I couldn’t sleep and was too shivery to climb out from under the duvet and he was just there, ready to hook me into the interweb and find me some daft website to keep me smiling.

I love you, Shep.

(Whirr)

Thankfully, I was just about well enough to make it to the press screening of 300 last night. Now I have to write a well-balanced and professional review of the movie without squealing about all the HALF-NEKKID MEN WITH OILED-UP CHESTS FIGHTING IN SLOW MOTION, but I’ll do it, because that’s my job. When I got home from the cinema I took my temperature and it was 102 degrees: I have a suspicion that wasn’t only because of my illness.

Incidentally, even without the male nekkidity, it’s a great film.* It’s due out at the end of March and I can’t recommend it enough!

And finally, I saw this at one of the platforms on the Bakerloo Line:

Heroes starts on Sci-Fi on Monday. Don’t miss it. It’s an absolute JOY.

* But the male nekkidity really fucking helps.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “"I’m hot-blooded, check it and see… I got a fever of a 103…"

  1. Heppy

    Damnit! I was asked to go along to the screening/Q&A and had to blow it out since I was meeting someone, who then went and cancelled on me. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    Anyway, try hot Irn Bru. Seriously. Pour some into a mug, microwave it til it’s volcanic hot, then let it cool just enough that it doesn’t take the skin off your tongue when you drink it. Down it in one. Makes you feel instantly healthy again. An ancient Scottish remedy, that.

  2. Talia

    I’m ill too so I know exactly how you feel. Wireless laptops are amazing things when you’re too ill to get out of bed.

    I was going to suggest hot lemonade, but seeing as hot Irn Bru has already been suggested, it’d probably just do the same thing.

    Feel better soon.

  3. neil h

    Hope you are feeling better soon Jayne!

  4. Jayne Nelson

    Thanks for your comments… feeling a lot better today! Lost five days of my life to my bed though. What a waste. Should be a bleedin’ law against it!

Leave a Reply

