Moving Speech

The strangest thing just happened. I stopped off at my local Tesco store on my way home from work and, as I was queuing to pay for my healthy dinner (oh, alright, my loaf of bread and two chocolate bars), I felt the ground shake.

At first I thought my mobile phone was going off in my pocket; I had it on vibrate. But as I reached down to check I realised that the shaking was actually coming up through the floor and up my legs. I looked out of the window to see if a giant lorry was sitting outside and I was feeling the engine vibration, but there was nothing there. So I thought I was imagining it… until I saw some boxes of chocolates on a shelf next to me wobbling around.

And then it stopped. Nobody else seemed have noticed it. Shaken up – literally – I paid for my goods and walked a few metres down the road.

It happened again. The first rumble lasted 20 seconds or so; this one lasted 10. “Aftershock,” I thought, waiting for it to stop. Again, I couldn’t suss out what had caused it.

Minutes later, I walked into my house. My neighbour was standing in our communal hallway, going through his post. We looked at each other, realised we’d have to say hello, and introductions were made.

“Hi,” I said. “I’m Jayne. I live on the top floor. Are you from the garden flat?”
“Yes,” he replied. “I’m Giles. Nice to meet you at last!”
We shook hands.
“So,” I said. “Did you just feel the earth move?”

Let’s hope his girlfriend doesn’t hear about this.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Moving Speech

  1. neil h

    Are you sure it wasn’t King Kong following you home? 🙂

  2. Fence

    Tremors! Watch out for giant worms

  3. Jayne Nelson

    I forgot about the Graboids from Tremors!

    Man, I’m glad I live in a top floor flat…

Leave a Reply

