Demonically Yours…

Last night I felt really rough. I came home from work at midday, totally worn out after unpacking my belongings at my brand new desk in our brand new building which doesn’t even have an address yet because it’s so new (in fact, it’s so new that the toilets on my floor don’t work and the coffee machine just laughs at you when you ask it for coffee… Bodes well, doesn’t it?).

Anyway, I went to bed at 7.30pm and slept right through to 7.30am this morning. Just call me Rip Van Nelson! Although, actually, don’t, because I just spent £50 changing my name by deed poll and I don’t fancy doing it again.

For the record, in addition to a sore back I now have a cold so stinking that seagulls are circling me, convinced I’m a rubbish tip.* Which made today rather painful: I travelled down to West Croydon to interview an author for SFX, and I sniffed and sneezed all the way there and all the way back. Many apologies, fellow passengers! I hate it when you’re on a train with someone who can’t stop snuffling – once or twice I’ve even handed out hankies to offending nose-dribblers. Today, even with my own hankies, I couldn’t control my nose at all. Thankfully I had an adrenaline rush during the interview itself so didn’t embarrass myself, though it was touch and go for a while!

The author I spoke to was Darren Shan,** who writes bloodthirsty – and thumpingly good – horror novels for kids. He was a top bloke and hopefully he’ll make a good feature, too. He did a signing at WH Smiths which went really well; I got there at the very end to find a queue of adults buying books for their kids’ Christmas pressies and children looking very nervous and awestruck. Darren posed for photos with some of them, pulling a scary face, which probably means that the kids will love the pictures but the parents won’t put them up in their living rooms.

After our chat, Darren signed his latest book, Demon Thief, for me: “To Jayne – thanks for being such a demonically delightful interviewer!” Well, I’ve been called some things in my time…

I’m at home again now, showered, dressing-gowned and never more than two feet away from a tissue. My little rat, Tumble, is looking at me in that “Are you going to get me out for a run or not?” way of hers, but seeing as I always sneeze when I let her out – regardless of having a cold and sneezing anyway – if I got her out tonight, things could get rather cataclysmic. What I need now is a nice hot chocolate drink and a snuggle in front of the TV… and so help me, that’s what I’m going to do. Bye!

* Not really. Those are metaphorical seagulls. I don’t really stink, although my cold does.
** His website is
www.darrenshan.com, if you fancy a look.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Demonically Yours…

  1. Norton

    I’m 28 and I love Darren Shan’s books… is that wrong of me?

  2. Jayne Nelson

    Not wrong at all. Darren Shan is excellent! And very addictive…

Leave a Reply

