Moondance

It’s deadline week and that means late nights at the office. It wasn’t too bad today – 8pm – but when you factor in my commute, I don’t get home until after 9pm. Sigh…

On the plus side, this evening there was the most astonishing blood-red moon. Dark, gorgeous scarlet, it made our humble moon looked like some Satanic symbol hanging in the sky. I kept staring at it as I tried to work – luckily my desk faces the window – and in the end I pointed it out to my boss.

“It’s like something out of An American Werewolf In London,” I suggested.

“Yeah, it is,” he replied. “Hope you’re not taking the Tube home tonight.”

Shit.

That scene with the businessman being stalked through the Underground by a hungry, snarling werewolf was one of the scariest things I ever saw as a child. Talk about saying the wrong thing! I got completely freaked as I climbed on the escalator at Baker Street station…

Luckily, An American Werewolf In London was filmed in some mythical time when the Underground could actually be empty. The Bakerloo line was as crammed as ever. I guess you should never believe what you see in the movies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

